View more tweets

View more tweets

Bury young people elect Members of Youth Parliament

by timpickstone on 12 February, 2019

Young people across Bury have voted to elect new members of the Youth Parliament. All schools and colleges in Bury set up polling stations and encouraged their students to vote in the elections.

5,655 young people aged 11-18 went to the ballot box to cast their vote for one of 8 candidates, who had spent weeks canvassing support from young people whether face to face or via social media.

Emma Greenwood of Woodhey High School was elected as Bury’s MYP with 1,238 votes, and her two deputies will be Elle-Sue Calderbank from Tottington High School (860 votes) and Josh Harcup from Prestwich Arts College (737 votes).

Members of Youth Parliament (MYPs) meet regionally and nationally to create manifestos and campaign for issues raised by young people. MYPs meet adult politicians and other decision-makers to create positive changes; they are also the only group other than adult Members of Parliament who are allowed to sit and debate in the House of Commons chamber.

Any young people who would like more information about the council’s Youth Cabinet can email youth participation officers Adele Crowshaw or Heather Walton at / or call 0161 253 7165.

More information on the Youth Parliament here.

   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>