Reporting Back: Annual Council and Mayor Making

by timpickstone on 20 May, 2019

Last week was the ‘Annual’ meeting of Bury Council. This is an important meeting, held each year following the local elections, to both elect the Leadership and committees for the Council for the following year, and to appoint the Mayor of the Borough.

The new Mayor of Bury is Councillor Trevor Holt. Trevor is a Labour councillor representing East Ward in Bury and he is the Council’s longest serving Councillor (36 years). It’s second time around for Cllr Holt, who was previously mayor in 1996/97. His wife Evelyn will serve as Mayoress.

The mayor has chosen two organisations to benefit in particular from the Mayoral Charity appeal – Bury Hospice and Buddies for Children with Autism. Redvales ward Labour councillor Shaheena Haroon was installed as deputy mayor for the coming year, and her husband Raja Haroon Khan as deputy mayor’s consort.

Council Leadership
As Labour have a majority of Councillors (29 Labour, 22 opposition) they choose the Council Leader and Cabinet. The Council Leader remains Councillor Rishi Shori.

Liberal Democrat Group Appointments
The main Liberal Democrat Group Appointments for the coming year are:
Councillor Tim Pickstone
Group Leader, Standards Committee, Cabinet (non-voting), Greater Manchester Corporate Issues and Reform Scrutiny Committee.
Councillor Cristina Tegolo
Deputy Group Leader, Planning Committee, Health Scrutiny Committee.
Councillor Michael Powell
Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Youth Cabinet.
Councillor Steve Wright
Licensing Committee, Audit Committee, Six Town Housing Board.

   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>